I Can’t See My Friend’s Day On Messenger

Facebook has released a new feature called “Messenger day”.  Now don’t be confused, this feature is like Snapchat. Here, you can upload photos and videos which will be visible for 24 hours.

All your Facebook friends can view your day by default. You can also select who can or can’t see it.

To see a friend’s day, tap on the row of cards at the top of your screen. All your friends who are using “My day” should have one.

If you can’t see a friend’s day, there are two reasons for that. Maybe your friend has blocked you from seeing his or her day.

Another cause of this is because of a malfunction of the app. Log out and try to login to see if your problem will be solved.

Customize Who Can View Your Messenger Day

To change who can view your day, follow the steps below.

  • Step 1: Tap the “Messenger” app on your home screen.
  • Step 2: Touch the profile icon at the top-right corner of your screen.
  • Step 3: Navigate downwards and tap “My day”
  • Step 4: Touch “Everyone”
  • Step 5: A list of your contacts will be displayed. Check the box next to each name to block the person from viewing your day.
  • Step 6: Touch the back button to take you back to the previous page.
  • Step 7: Click “Custom” to see who can view your day.
  • Step 8: To block all your contacts from viewing your day, touch “Unselect all”, then confirm.

Or

  • Step 1: Tap the “Messenger” app on your home screen.
  • Step 2: Touch the profile icon at the top of your screen.
  • Step 3: Navigate downwards to “Preferences” and tap “Story”
  • Step 4: Select “Public” if you want everyone to view your day.
  • Step 5: Select “Friends and connections”. That is if you want only your Facebook friends and contacts who use messenger to view your day.

How To Create A Story On Your Day

Follow the steps below to know who viewed your day.

  • Step 1: Tap the “Messenger” app on your home screen.
  • Step 2: Click the profile icon at the top of your screen.
  • Step 3: Select “My day”
  • Step 4: Tap the “Camera” icon to take a photo or record a video. You can also touch the “art pallet” and write on it.

Now that you have known how to create “My day”, the next step is to add effects.

How To Add Effects To “My day”

Look below for steps on how to add effects to “My day”.

  • Step 1: To add stickers, touch the “smiley face” icon. You can also add stickers manually.
  • Step 2: To add text, tap the “Aa” icon.
  • Step 3: To add colour to the text, swipe the rainbow bar on the right.
  • Step 4: To scribble on the post, touch the “Squiggly line” icon.

After adding the effects, tap the bottom arrow to share “My day”. Please note that you can choose who will view your day.

How To Add To “My day”

To add a post to an existing “My day”, look below.

  • Step 1: Go to the “Messenger” app on your phone.
  • Step 2: Touch “My day”
  • Step 3: Tap “Add to your day”

With just the three steps above, you have successfully added to “My day”.

How To See Who Viewed Your “My day”

To see the list of people who viewed your “My day” post, follow these steps.

  • Step 1: Open the “Messenger” app on your phone.
  • Step 2: Tap “My day”
  • Step 3: Touch the circular icon at the bottom right of your screen.
  • Step 4: A list of people who viewed your post will appear. You can also adjust the privacy settings of the post.

How To Remove “My day”

If you want to delete a post you have added to “My day”, follow the steps discussed below.

  • Step 1: Launch the “Messenger” app on your device.
  • Step 2: Touch “My day”
  • Step 3: Tap the post you want to delete or remove.
  • Step 4: Touch the three dots at the bottom right corner.
  • Step 4: Choose “Delete”

Other Tips On Using “My day”

Other things you should note when using Messenger’s day include:

  • When viewing “My day”, you can skip a post by tapping on it.
  • Posts on “My day” are only visible for 24 hours, after which they disappear.
  • Each photo is viewable for only 5 seconds.
  • Each video is viewable for 15 seconds. That means the time duration for any video posted must not be over 15 seconds.

Conclusion

The Messenger day feature is like the Facebook story. They both allow users to tell stories about their day by posting pictures or videos. All posts disappear after 24 hours.

You can now post stories about your day without worrying that you don’t have a Facebook account.

 

 

 

 

Related Posts

About The Author

Add Comment